Any tech tools, resources, recommendations, including the vast world of online learning.

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

Hubert V. Yee social media and marketing manager of startup

11/10/11 Update: We have an additional 30 plus tools, references, and resources submitted by community members.

We all know that teachers are always looking for tools, references, and resources for classrooms. Well, here's 80 "must see" trial, free, and paid websites recommended by Edutopia community members. Keep this list in your back pocket! It might come in handy. (The list is not ranked and listed in any order.) =)

What other websites do you think are missing from this list? Which ones do you use?

1. Thinkfinity: www.thinkfinity.org

2. National Geographic Xpeditions: www.nationalgeographic.com

3. Culture Grams: www.culturegrams.com

4. Asia Society: www.asiasociety.org/arts-culture/asia-society-museum

5. BBC for Kids: www.bbc.co.uk

6. New York Times, Lesson Plans: www.learning.blogs.nytimes.com/category/lesson-plans

7. Teacher Corner: www.theteacherscorner.net

8. Slide Share: www.slideshare.net

9. Free Rice-Vocabulary Site: www.freerice.com

10. Free Poverty-Geography Site: www.freepoverty.com

11. Learner: www.learner.org

12. International Reading Association: www.readwritethink.org

13. OWL at Purdue U: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

14. Blue Grammar Book: www.grammarbook.com

15. ESL Flashcards: www.eslflashcards.com

16. Spellanywhere: www.spellanywhere.com

17. Rick Walton: www.rickwalton.com

18. Fires in the Mind: www.firesinthemind.org

19. Edhelper: www.edhelper.com

20. RubiStar: http://rubistar.4teachers.org/

21. Byrd Seed Gifted Lessons: www.byrdseed.com

22. Imagination Soup: www.imaginationsoup.net

23. TED: www.ted.com

24. Professional Garfield: www.professorgarfield.org

25. Kid Blog: www.kidblog.org

26. That Quiz: www.thatquiz.org

27. Academic Skill Builders: www.arcademicskillbuilders.com

28. Circle the Cat: www.members.shaw.ca/gf3/circle-the-cat.html

29. Sheppard Software: www.sheppardsoftware.com

30. Storyline Online:
www.storylineonline.net

31. ABCya!: www.abcya.com

32. Study Zone: www.studyzone.org/testprep/index.cfm

33. Florida Assessment for Instruction in Reading: www.fcrr.org/scasearch

34. Super Teacher Worksheets: www.superteacherworksheets.com

35. Discovery Education Streaming: www.discoveryeducation.com

36. Busy Teacher’s Café: www.busyteacherscafe.com

37. Global Tech School: www.globaltechschool.com

38. Diigo: www.diigo.com

39. Vocabulary and Spelling City: www.spellingcity.com

40. Making Curriculum Pop: www.mcpopmb.ning.com

41. English Champion: www.englishcompanion.ning.com

42. National Council of Teachers of English: www.ncte.org

43. Web English Teacher: www.webenglishteacher.com

44. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: www.rockhall.com/education

45. College Board: http://professionals.collegeboard.com/prof-dev

46. Technology in Class: www.technologyinclass.com/blog

47. PBworks: http://pbworks.com/

48. Challenge by Choice: www.challengebychoice.wordpress.com

49. McQuality Education Services: www.mcqualityeducserv.com

50. Learning Centre: www.museevirtuel-virtualmuseum.ca

51. Dream Up the Future: http://teachers.egfi-k12.org

52. Ten Marks: www.tenmarks.com/tmother/teacher-index

53. Quizlet: www.quizlet.com

54. Voice Thread: www.voicethread.com

55. 8 to Great: www.8togreat.com

56. Learn Me Project: www.learnmeproject.com

57. Hands on Math: www.handsonmath.blogspot.com

58. Edmodo: www.edmodo.com

59. Tween Tribune: www.tweentribune.com

60. TregoED: www.tregoed.org/teachers/new-to-scan.html

61. Middle School Science: www.middleschoolscience.com

62. Science Spot: www.sciencespot.net

63. Animoto: www.animoto.com

64. Prezi: www.prezi.com

65. Buck Institute for Education: www.bie.org

66. Eduhound: www.eduhound.com

67. How Stuff Works: www.howstuffworks.com

68. Flash Card Machine: www.flashcardmachine.com

69. Class Jump: www.classjump.com

70. ABCteach: www.abcteach.com

71. EPALS Global Community: www.epals.com

72. EdHelper: www.edhelper.com

73. TeAch-nology: www.teach-nology.com

74. Survey Monkey: www.surveymonkey.com

75. Scholastic: http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/home.jsp

76. iKeep Bookmarks: www.ikeepbookmarks.com

77. Enchanted Learning: www.enchantedlearning.com

78. Eclipse Crossword: www.eclipsecrossword.com

79. Math Snacks: www.mathsnacks.org

80. Wikispaces: www.wikispaces.com

Additional community member submissions:

81. World Digital Library: www.wdl.org

82. Library of Congress for Teachers: www.loc.gov/teachers

83. SocialMaestro: www.socialmaestro.com

84. Spellingcity: www.spellingcity.com

85. Report Card Comments: www.reportcardscomments.com

86. EDSITEment!: www.edsitement.neh.gov

87. Khan Academy: www.khanacademy.org

88. Teachinghistory.org: www.teachinghistory.org

89. National Archives - Teachers: www.archives.gov/education

90. Smithsonian: www.si.edu/educators

91. Jibe: www.jibemix.com

92. Glogster Edu: www.edu.glogster.com

93. PD 360: www.pd360.com

94. Enter The Group: www.enterthegroup.com

95. assessmentfocus.com: www.assessmentfocus.com

96. JewelBeat: www.jewelbeat.com

97. NWP Digital Is: http://digitalis.nwp.org/

98. Gapminder: www.gapminder.org

99. Facing the Future: www.facingthefuture.org

100. Curriculum21: www.curriculum21.com/clearinghouse

101. World Mapper: www.worldmapper.org

102. Collaborize Classroom: www.collaborizeclassroom.com

103. SweetSearch: www.sweetsearch.com

104. LearningReviews.com: www.LearningReviews.com

105. Genetic Science Learning Center: learn.genetics.utah.edu

106. Enter The Group: www.Enterthegroup.com

107. Hudson Alpha Institute for Biotechnology: www.hudsonalpha.org/education/digitaleducation

108. Knovio: www.knovio.com

109. Splashtop Inc.: www.splashtop.com

110. Root-1: www.root-1.com

111. MyClassTalk: www.myclasstalk.com

112. BenchPrep: www.benchprep.com

Comments (82)

Comment RSS
Senior Research Associate at Teachinghistory.org

Teachinghistory.org

Was this helpful?
0

Nice list! For U.S. history teachers, www.teachinghistory.org is a useful resource. We've got teaching strategies, best practices, reviews of websites featuring primary sources, lesson plans--and we're always adding more.

The National Archives' Teachers section (http://www.archives.gov/education/) might also be worth adding. And the Smithsonian (http://www.si.edu/Educators). Unless they're already on there and I'm missing them as I scan!

Director of Community Development at ReactionGrid Inc.

Jibe (multiuser web-based immersive learning platform)

Was this helpful?
0

At ReactionGrid we have a platform called Jibe (http://jibemix.com). It allows you to build a multiuser virtual world (using Unity3d) and then deploy it on a webpage. Our customers use it to create immersive learning modules that can be integrated with a preexisting LMS and registration database.

You can check out my own Jibe demo world here: http://bit.ly/Jibe

Glogster

Was this helpful?
0

Glogster is a digital poster maker that has an EDU offshoot for K-12. It's secure and private, and free!

http://edu.glogster.com

I have used glogster with my

Was this helpful?
0

I have used glogster with my science classes as a way to present projects. The students loved it!

High School Science Teacher from Magdalena, New Mexico

I just found this list. I

Was this helpful?
0

I just found this list. I think that it could be my library. I need one place in which I can find things quickly. Let me check it out and see.

30-day trial educational PD

Was this helpful?
0

Not to be a "me, too" post or anything, but you really should check out school improvement network's PD360.com. You can do a 30-day free trial, and then you have to pay. It's one of the most comprehensive libraries I've ever seen.

Ph.D. Student in Education (Teaching & Learning)

Education Technology Database

Was this helpful?
+1

And to make it easier for you to find free, kid-safe, online tools, check out this collaborative edtech wiki: http://edutechdatabase.wikispaces.com/ It contains over 1000 tools categorized by subject, grade level, and standards!

CEO Enterthegroup.com

PBL Tool

Was this helpful?
0

Great list, I would like to also suggest people look at http://Enterthegroup.com which is a free tool that provides students with collaboration tools, project management templates and private social networks for their group projects and virtual classrooms. It's an extremely powerful tool which can help students communicate and learn how to manage their work.

Assessment resources database

Was this helpful?
0

Teachers looking for educational assessment activities, and tools for creating them, should take a look at http://www.assessmentfocus.com
The site lists a large range of K12 assessment activities plus plenty of handy classroom assessment tools such as quiz makers and rubric makers.

This is a site I work for.

Was this helpful?
0

This is a site I work for. http://www.jewelbeat.com has over 3500 free music and sound effects aside from the paid selection that is $0.99 per track with over 35,000 tracks. You can find the free royalty free music loops and effects at the bottom of the main page and it is sprawled over a few pages but we are looking to integrate it into the main site and search soon. This would be a great resource for students and educators needing music for their presentations, videos, films, events, etc. For the free music and effects, all that is needed is a credit when using the music.

see more see less