Facebook
Edutopia on Facebook
Twitter
Edutopia on Twitter
Google+
Edutopia on Google+
Pinterest
Edutopia on Pinterest Follow Me on Pinterest
WHAT WORKS IN EDUCATION The George Lucas Educational Foundation

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

Related Tags: Classroom Technology
More Related Discussions
85 Replies 11107 Views

11/10/11 Update: We have an additional 30 plus tools, references, and resources submitted by community members.

We all know that teachers are always looking for tools, references, and resources for classrooms. Well, here's 80 "must see" trial, free, and paid websites recommended by Edutopia community members. Keep this list in your back pocket! It might come in handy. (The list is not ranked and listed in any order.) =)

What other websites do you think are missing from this list? Which ones do you use?

1. Thinkfinity: www.thinkfinity.org

2. National Geographic Xpeditions: www.nationalgeographic.com

3. Culture Grams: www.culturegrams.com

4. Asia Society: www.asiasociety.org/arts-culture/asia-society-museum

5. BBC for Kids: www.bbc.co.uk

6. New York Times, Lesson Plans: www.learning.blogs.nytimes.com/category/lesson-plans

7. Teacher Corner: www.theteacherscorner.net

8. Slide Share: www.slideshare.net

9. Free Rice-Vocabulary Site: www.freerice.com

10. Free Poverty-Geography Site: www.freepoverty.com

11. Learner: www.learner.org

12. International Reading Association: www.readwritethink.org

13. OWL at Purdue U: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

14. Blue Grammar Book: www.grammarbook.com

15. ESL Flashcards: www.eslflashcards.com

16. Spellanywhere: www.spellanywhere.com

17. Rick Walton: www.rickwalton.com

18. Fires in the Mind: www.firesinthemind.org

19. Edhelper: www.edhelper.com

20. RubiStar: http://rubistar.4teachers.org/

21. Byrd Seed Gifted Lessons: www.byrdseed.com

22. Imagination Soup: www.imaginationsoup.net

23. TED: www.ted.com

24. Professional Garfield: www.professorgarfield.org

25. Kid Blog: www.kidblog.org

26. That Quiz: www.thatquiz.org

27. Academic Skill Builders: www.arcademicskillbuilders.com

28. Circle the Cat: www.crazygames.com/game/circle-the-cat

29. Sheppard Software: www.sheppardsoftware.com

30. Storyline Online:
www.storylineonline.net

31. ABCya!: www.abcya.com

32. Study Zone: www.studyzone.org/testprep/index.cfm

33. Florida Assessment for Instruction in Reading: www.fcrr.org/scasearch

34. Super Teacher Worksheets: www.superteacherworksheets.com

35. Discovery Education Streaming: www.discoveryeducation.com

36. Busy Teacher’s Café: www.busyteacherscafe.com

37. Global Tech School: www.globaltechschool.com

38. Diigo: www.diigo.com

39. Vocabulary and Spelling City: www.spellingcity.com

40. Making Curriculum Pop: www.mcpopmb.ning.com

41. English Champion: www.englishcompanion.ning.com

42. National Council of Teachers of English: www.ncte.org

43. Web English Teacher: www.webenglishteacher.com

44. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: www.rockhall.com/education

45. College Board: http://professionals.collegeboard.com/prof-dev

46. Technology in Class: www.technologyinclass.com/blog

47. PBworks: http://pbworks.com/

48. Challenge by Choice: www.challengebychoice.wordpress.com

49. McQuality Education Services: www.mcqualityeducserv.com

50. Learning Centre: www.museevirtuel-virtualmuseum.ca

51. Dream Up the Future: http://teachers.egfi-k12.org

52. Ten Marks: www.tenmarks.com/tmother/teacher-index

53. Quizlet: www.quizlet.com

54. Voice Thread: www.voicethread.com

55. 8 to Great: www.8togreat.com

56. Learn Me Project: www.learnmeproject.com

57. Hands on Math: www.handsonmath.blogspot.com

58. Edmodo: www.edmodo.com

59. Tween Tribune: www.tweentribune.com

60. TregoED: www.tregoed.org/teachers/new-to-scan.html

61. Middle School Science: www.middleschoolscience.com

62. Science Spot: www.sciencespot.net

63. Animoto: www.animoto.com

64. Prezi: www.prezi.com

65. Buck Institute for Education: www.bie.org

66. Eduhound: www.eduhound.com

67. How Stuff Works: www.howstuffworks.com

68. Flash Card Machine: www.flashcardmachine.com

69. Class Jump: www.classjump.com

70. ABCteach: www.abcteach.com

71. EPALS Global Community: www.epals.com

72. EdHelper: www.edhelper.com

73. TeAch-nology: www.teach-nology.com

74. Survey Monkey: www.surveymonkey.com

75. Scholastic: http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/home.jsp

76. iKeep Bookmarks: www.ikeepbookmarks.com

77. Enchanted Learning: www.enchantedlearning.com

78. Eclipse Crossword: www.eclipsecrossword.com

79. Math Snacks: www.mathsnacks.org

80. Wikispaces: www.wikispaces.com

Additional community member submissions:

81. World Digital Library: www.wdl.org

82. Library of Congress for Teachers: www.loc.gov/teachers

83. SocialMaestro: www.socialmaestro.com

84. Spellingcity: www.spellingcity.com

85. Report Card Comments: www.reportcardscomments.com

86. EDSITEment!: www.edsitement.neh.gov

87. Khan Academy: www.khanacademy.org

88. Teachinghistory.org: www.teachinghistory.org

89. National Archives - Teachers: www.archives.gov/education

90. Smithsonian: www.si.edu/educators

91. Jibe: www.jibemix.com

92. Glogster Edu: www.edu.glogster.com

93. PD 360: www.pd360.com

94. Enter The Group: www.enterthegroup.com

95. assessmentfocus.com: www.assessmentfocus.com

96. JewelBeat: www.jewelbeat.com

97. NWP Digital Is: http://digitalis.nwp.org/

98. Gapminder: www.gapminder.org

99. Facing the Future: www.facingthefuture.org

100. Curriculum21: www.curriculum21.com/clearinghouse

101. World Mapper: www.worldmapper.org

102. Collaborize Classroom: www.collaborizeclassroom.com

103. SweetSearch: www.sweetsearch.com

104. LearningReviews.com: www.LearningReviews.com

105. Genetic Science Learning Center: learn.genetics.utah.edu

106. Enter The Group: www.Enterthegroup.com

107. Hudson Alpha Institute for Biotechnology: www.hudsonalpha.org/education/digitaleducation

108. Knovio: www.knovio.com

109. Splashtop Inc.: www.splashtop.com

110. Root-1: www.root-1.com

111. MyClassTalk: www.myclasstalk.com

112. BenchPrep: www.benchprep.com

Comments (85 Replies)Sign in or register to postSubscribe to comments via RSS

Jared's picture

Not to be a "me, too" post or anything, but you really should check out school improvement network's PD360.com. You can do a 30-day free trial, and then you have to pay. It's one of the most comprehensive libraries I've ever seen.

Ms. Trust's picture
Ms. Trust
Ph.D. Student in Education (Teaching & Learning)

And to make it easier for you to find free, kid-safe, online tools, check out this collaborative edtech wiki: http://edutechdatabase.wikispaces.com/ It contains over 1000 tools categorized by subject, grade level, and standards!

SP's picture
SP
CEO Enterthegroup.com

Great list, I would like to also suggest people look at http://Enterthegroup.com which is a free tool that provides students with collaboration tools, project management templates and private social networks for their group projects and virtual classrooms. It's an extremely powerful tool which can help students communicate and learn how to manage their work.

Nathan's picture

Teachers looking for educational assessment activities, and tools for creating them, should take a look at http://www.assessmentfocus.com
The site lists a large range of K12 assessment activities plus plenty of handy classroom assessment tools such as quiz makers and rubric makers.

Sherine J's picture

This is a site I work for. http://www.jewelbeat.com has over 3500 free music and sound effects aside from the paid selection that is $0.99 per track with over 35,000 tracks. You can find the free royalty free music loops and effects at the bottom of the main page and it is sprawled over a few pages but we are looking to integrate it into the main site and search soon. This would be a great resource for students and educators needing music for their presentations, videos, films, events, etc. For the free music and effects, all that is needed is a credit when using the music.

Ida Brandão's picture
Ida Brandão
Senior officer at the Ministry of Education in Portugal

The different repositories of educational tools and resources always bring up some new links that we are not aware of or we have not visited recently, therefore, thanks for sharing this list.

One of the most extensive repositories of free Web 2.0 tools that I have encountered is Cool Tools for Schools, created by a lady from New Zealand who keeps updating it. It has received a recent award by Merlot and I recommend it vividly - http://cooltoolsforschools.wikispaces.com.

The wiki is structured by a classification of tools (resources have also been added more recently), and if you open the index A-Z you can have a glimpse of how long this list is in fact.

Shana Ray's picture
Shana Ray
Passionate about Educational Technology & Connecting!

This is a great list of resources for teachers! Another one to add would be Collaborize Classroom: http://collaborizeclassroom.com - a free online learning platform, focused on blended learning and online discussions!

Sign in and Join the Discussion! Not a member? Register to join the discussion.