Facebook
Edutopia on Facebook
Twitter
Edutopia on Twitter
Google+
Edutopia on Google+
Pinterest
Edutopia on Pinterest Follow Me on Pinterest
WHAT WORKS IN EDUCATION The George Lucas Educational Foundation

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

Related Tags: Classroom Technology
More Related Discussions
85 Replies 11180 Views

11/10/11 Update: We have an additional 30 plus tools, references, and resources submitted by community members.

We all know that teachers are always looking for tools, references, and resources for classrooms. Well, here's 80 "must see" trial, free, and paid websites recommended by Edutopia community members. Keep this list in your back pocket! It might come in handy. (The list is not ranked and listed in any order.) =)

What other websites do you think are missing from this list? Which ones do you use?

1. Thinkfinity: www.thinkfinity.org

2. National Geographic Xpeditions: www.nationalgeographic.com

3. Culture Grams: www.culturegrams.com

4. Asia Society: www.asiasociety.org/arts-culture/asia-society-museum

5. BBC for Kids: www.bbc.co.uk

6. New York Times, Lesson Plans: www.learning.blogs.nytimes.com/category/lesson-plans

7. Teacher Corner: www.theteacherscorner.net

8. Slide Share: www.slideshare.net

9. Free Rice-Vocabulary Site: www.freerice.com

10. Free Poverty-Geography Site: www.freepoverty.com

11. Learner: www.learner.org

12. International Reading Association: www.readwritethink.org

13. OWL at Purdue U: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

14. Blue Grammar Book: www.grammarbook.com

15. ESL Flashcards: www.eslflashcards.com

16. Spellanywhere: www.spellanywhere.com

17. Rick Walton: www.rickwalton.com

18. Fires in the Mind: www.firesinthemind.org

19. Edhelper: www.edhelper.com

20. RubiStar: http://rubistar.4teachers.org/

21. Byrd Seed Gifted Lessons: www.byrdseed.com

22. Imagination Soup: www.imaginationsoup.net

23. TED: www.ted.com

24. Professional Garfield: www.professorgarfield.org

25. Kid Blog: www.kidblog.org

26. That Quiz: www.thatquiz.org

27. Academic Skill Builders: www.arcademicskillbuilders.com

28. Circle the Cat: www.crazygames.com/game/circle-the-cat

29. Sheppard Software: www.sheppardsoftware.com

30. Storyline Online:
www.storylineonline.net

31. ABCya!: www.abcya.com

32. Study Zone: www.studyzone.org/testprep/index.cfm

33. Florida Assessment for Instruction in Reading: www.fcrr.org/scasearch

34. Super Teacher Worksheets: www.superteacherworksheets.com

35. Discovery Education Streaming: www.discoveryeducation.com

36. Busy Teacher’s Café: www.busyteacherscafe.com

37. Global Tech School: www.globaltechschool.com

38. Diigo: www.diigo.com

39. Vocabulary and Spelling City: www.spellingcity.com

40. Making Curriculum Pop: www.mcpopmb.ning.com

41. English Champion: www.englishcompanion.ning.com

42. National Council of Teachers of English: www.ncte.org

43. Web English Teacher: www.webenglishteacher.com

44. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: www.rockhall.com/education

45. College Board: http://professionals.collegeboard.com/prof-dev

46. Technology in Class: www.technologyinclass.com/blog

47. PBworks: http://pbworks.com/

48. Challenge by Choice: www.challengebychoice.wordpress.com

49. McQuality Education Services: www.mcqualityeducserv.com

50. Learning Centre: www.museevirtuel-virtualmuseum.ca

51. Dream Up the Future: http://teachers.egfi-k12.org

52. Ten Marks: www.tenmarks.com/tmother/teacher-index

53. Quizlet: www.quizlet.com

54. Voice Thread: www.voicethread.com

55. 8 to Great: www.8togreat.com

56. Learn Me Project: www.learnmeproject.com

57. Hands on Math: www.handsonmath.blogspot.com

58. Edmodo: www.edmodo.com

59. Tween Tribune: www.tweentribune.com

60. TregoED: www.tregoed.org/teachers/new-to-scan.html

61. Middle School Science: www.middleschoolscience.com

62. Science Spot: www.sciencespot.net

63. Animoto: www.animoto.com

64. Prezi: www.prezi.com

65. Buck Institute for Education: www.bie.org

66. Eduhound: www.eduhound.com

67. How Stuff Works: www.howstuffworks.com

68. Flash Card Machine: www.flashcardmachine.com

69. Class Jump: www.classjump.com

70. ABCteach: www.abcteach.com

71. EPALS Global Community: www.epals.com

72. EdHelper: www.edhelper.com

73. TeAch-nology: www.teach-nology.com

74. Survey Monkey: www.surveymonkey.com

75. Scholastic: http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/home.jsp

76. iKeep Bookmarks: www.ikeepbookmarks.com

77. Enchanted Learning: www.enchantedlearning.com

78. Eclipse Crossword: www.eclipsecrossword.com

79. Math Snacks: www.mathsnacks.org

80. Wikispaces: www.wikispaces.com

Additional community member submissions:

81. World Digital Library: www.wdl.org

82. Library of Congress for Teachers: www.loc.gov/teachers

83. SocialMaestro: www.socialmaestro.com

84. Spellingcity: www.spellingcity.com

85. Report Card Comments: www.reportcardscomments.com

86. EDSITEment!: www.edsitement.neh.gov

87. Khan Academy: www.khanacademy.org

88. Teachinghistory.org: www.teachinghistory.org

89. National Archives - Teachers: www.archives.gov/education

90. Smithsonian: www.si.edu/educators

91. Jibe: www.jibemix.com

92. Glogster Edu: www.edu.glogster.com

93. PD 360: www.pd360.com

94. Enter The Group: www.enterthegroup.com

95. assessmentfocus.com: www.assessmentfocus.com

96. JewelBeat: www.jewelbeat.com

97. NWP Digital Is: http://digitalis.nwp.org/

98. Gapminder: www.gapminder.org

99. Facing the Future: www.facingthefuture.org

100. Curriculum21: www.curriculum21.com/clearinghouse

101. World Mapper: www.worldmapper.org

102. Collaborize Classroom: www.collaborizeclassroom.com

103. SweetSearch: www.sweetsearch.com

104. LearningReviews.com: www.LearningReviews.com

105. Genetic Science Learning Center: learn.genetics.utah.edu

106. Enter The Group: www.Enterthegroup.com

107. Hudson Alpha Institute for Biotechnology: www.hudsonalpha.org/education/digitaleducation

108. Knovio: www.knovio.com

109. Splashtop Inc.: www.splashtop.com

110. Root-1: www.root-1.com

111. MyClassTalk: www.myclasstalk.com

112. BenchPrep: www.benchprep.com

Comments (85 Replies)Sign in or register to postSubscribe to comments via RSS

Mark Moran's picture
Mark Moran
CEO of company that teaches students how to use the Web effectively.

I know everyone likes tidy lists, but a list that is only 80 items long and seeks to cover the entire edtech field needs another zero on the end. We've created an article on 101 Great Sites for Social Studies and everyone of them is great.

Indeed, once we have created about 100 guides to the best educational resources by topic, as well as articles linking to the best educational content online for students, we realized we had more than 35,000 curated sites useful to educators and students. Thus, to make these easier to find, we created SweetSearch, a custom search engine powered by Google that only searches these 35,000 sites, and others we find on lists such as yours. So I suggest SweetSearch as one tool to add to your list.

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

[quote]Nice list! For U.S. history teachers, www.teachinghistory.orgis a useful resource. We've got teaching strategies, best practices, reviews of websites featuring primary sources, lesson plans--and we're always adding more.

The National Archives' Teachers section (http://www.archives.gov/education/) might also be worth adding. And the Smithsonian (http://www.si.edu/Educators). Unless they're already on there and I'm missing them as I scan![/quote]

I used to take my interns to the National Archives for research on immigration history. I also interacted with Smithsonian folks also. Both are great resources.

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

Vera,

Thanks for sharing! Khan Academy is definitely a growing site full of great references for parents, guardians, teachers, and children.

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

[quote]At ReactionGrid we have a platform called Jibe (http://jibemix.com). It allows you to build a multiuser virtual world (using Unity3d) and then deploy it on a webpage. Our customers use it to create immersive learning modules that can be integrated with a preexisting LMS and registration database.

You can check out my own Jibe demo world here: http://bit.ly/Jibe[/quote][quote]At ReactionGrid we have a platform called Jibe (http://jibemix.com). It allows you to build a multiuser virtual world (using Unity3d) and then deploy it on a webpage. Our customers use it to create immersive learning modules that can be integrated with a preexisting LMS and registration database.

You can check out my own Jibe demo world here: http://bit.ly/Jibe[/quote]

John,

Thanks for your demo!

Hubert

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

[quote]Glogster is a digital poster maker that has an EDU offshoot for K-12. It's secure and private, and free!

http://edu.glogster.com[/quote]

Lisa,

Thanks for sharing Glogster Edu! We worked with them to provide 5 licenses to educators. Very neat tool!

Hubert

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

[quote]And to make it easier for you to find free, kid-safe, online tools, check out this collaborative edtech wiki: http://edutechdatabase.wikispaces.com/It contains over 1000 tools categorized by subject, grade level, and standards![/quote]

Hi Ms. Trust!

We are going to be opening up a wiki very soon! Look forward to sharing the wiki with others. =)

Hubert

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

Hi Jared, Nathan, Sal, and Shrine,

Noted! I've added your recommendations to our list. Thanks!

hubert

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

[quote]Digital Is, at http://www.digitalis.nwp.orgis a growing collection of teaching ideas and reflections by teachers about their efforts to teach digital writing and understand the affordances and potential of digital media and literacies.[/quote]

Thank you Elyse! Huge fan of NWP!

Hubert

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

[quote]The different repositories of educational tools and resources always bring up some new links that we are not aware of or we have not visited recently, therefore, thanks for sharing this list.

One of the most extensive repositories of free Web 2.0 tools that I have encountered is Cool Tools for Schools, created by a lady from New Zealand who keeps updating it. It has received a recent award by Merlot and I recommend it vividly - http://cooltoolsforschools.wikispaces.com.

The wiki is structured by a classification of tools (resources have also been added more recently), and if you open the index A-Z you can have a glimpse of how long this list is in fact.[/quote]

Thank you Ida! We will add this to our list of Wikis when we launch it.

Hubert

Sign in and Join the Discussion! Not a member? Register to join the discussion.