Facebook
Edutopia on Facebook
Twitter
Edutopia on Twitter
Google+
Edutopia on Google+
Pinterest
Edutopia on Pinterest Follow Me on Pinterest
WHAT WORKS IN EDUCATION The George Lucas Educational Foundation

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

Related Tags: Classroom Technology
More Related Discussions
85 Replies 11306 Views

11/10/11 Update: We have an additional 30 plus tools, references, and resources submitted by community members.

We all know that teachers are always looking for tools, references, and resources for classrooms. Well, here's 80 "must see" trial, free, and paid websites recommended by Edutopia community members. Keep this list in your back pocket! It might come in handy. (The list is not ranked and listed in any order.) =)

What other websites do you think are missing from this list? Which ones do you use?

1. Thinkfinity: www.thinkfinity.org

2. National Geographic Xpeditions: www.nationalgeographic.com

3. Culture Grams: www.culturegrams.com

4. Asia Society: www.asiasociety.org/arts-culture/asia-society-museum

5. BBC for Kids: www.bbc.co.uk

6. New York Times, Lesson Plans: www.learning.blogs.nytimes.com/category/lesson-plans

7. Teacher Corner: www.theteacherscorner.net

8. Slide Share: www.slideshare.net

9. Free Rice-Vocabulary Site: www.freerice.com

10. Free Poverty-Geography Site: www.freepoverty.com

11. Learner: www.learner.org

12. International Reading Association: www.readwritethink.org

13. OWL at Purdue U: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

14. Blue Grammar Book: www.grammarbook.com

15. ESL Flashcards: www.eslflashcards.com

16. Spellanywhere: www.spellanywhere.com

17. Rick Walton: www.rickwalton.com

18. Fires in the Mind: www.firesinthemind.org

19. Edhelper: www.edhelper.com

20. RubiStar: http://rubistar.4teachers.org/

21. Byrd Seed Gifted Lessons: www.byrdseed.com

22. Imagination Soup: www.imaginationsoup.net

23. TED: www.ted.com

24. Professional Garfield: www.professorgarfield.org

25. Kid Blog: www.kidblog.org

26. That Quiz: www.thatquiz.org

27. Academic Skill Builders: www.arcademicskillbuilders.com

28. Circle the Cat: www.crazygames.com/game/circle-the-cat

29. Sheppard Software: www.sheppardsoftware.com

30. Storyline Online:
www.storylineonline.net

31. ABCya!: www.abcya.com

32. Study Zone: www.studyzone.org/testprep/index.cfm

33. Florida Assessment for Instruction in Reading: www.fcrr.org/scasearch

34. Super Teacher Worksheets: www.superteacherworksheets.com

35. Discovery Education Streaming: www.discoveryeducation.com

36. Busy Teacher’s Café: www.busyteacherscafe.com

37. Global Tech School: www.globaltechschool.com

38. Diigo: www.diigo.com

39. Vocabulary and Spelling City: www.spellingcity.com

40. Making Curriculum Pop: www.mcpopmb.ning.com

41. English Champion: www.englishcompanion.ning.com

42. National Council of Teachers of English: www.ncte.org

43. Web English Teacher: www.webenglishteacher.com

44. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: www.rockhall.com/education

45. College Board: http://professionals.collegeboard.com/prof-dev

46. Technology in Class: www.technologyinclass.com/blog

47. PBworks: http://pbworks.com/

48. Challenge by Choice: www.challengebychoice.wordpress.com

49. McQuality Education Services: www.mcqualityeducserv.com

50. Learning Centre: www.museevirtuel-virtualmuseum.ca

51. Dream Up the Future: http://teachers.egfi-k12.org

52. Ten Marks: www.tenmarks.com/tmother/teacher-index

53. Quizlet: www.quizlet.com

54. Voice Thread: www.voicethread.com

55. 8 to Great: www.8togreat.com

56. Learn Me Project: www.learnmeproject.com

57. Hands on Math: www.handsonmath.blogspot.com

58. Edmodo: www.edmodo.com

59. Tween Tribune: www.tweentribune.com

60. TregoED: www.tregoed.org/teachers/new-to-scan.html

61. Middle School Science: www.middleschoolscience.com

62. Science Spot: www.sciencespot.net

63. Animoto: www.animoto.com

64. Prezi: www.prezi.com

65. Buck Institute for Education: www.bie.org

66. Eduhound: www.eduhound.com

67. How Stuff Works: www.howstuffworks.com

68. Flash Card Machine: www.flashcardmachine.com

69. Class Jump: www.classjump.com

70. ABCteach: www.abcteach.com

71. EPALS Global Community: www.epals.com

72. EdHelper: www.edhelper.com

73. TeAch-nology: www.teach-nology.com

74. Survey Monkey: www.surveymonkey.com

75. Scholastic: http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/home.jsp

76. iKeep Bookmarks: www.ikeepbookmarks.com

77. Enchanted Learning: www.enchantedlearning.com

78. Eclipse Crossword: www.eclipsecrossword.com

79. Math Snacks: www.mathsnacks.org

80. Wikispaces: www.wikispaces.com

Additional community member submissions:

81. World Digital Library: www.wdl.org

82. Library of Congress for Teachers: www.loc.gov/teachers

83. SocialMaestro: www.socialmaestro.com

84. Spellingcity: www.spellingcity.com

85. Report Card Comments: www.reportcardscomments.com

86. EDSITEment!: www.edsitement.neh.gov

87. Khan Academy: www.khanacademy.org

88. Teachinghistory.org: www.teachinghistory.org

89. National Archives - Teachers: www.archives.gov/education

90. Smithsonian: www.si.edu/educators

91. Jibe: www.jibemix.com

92. Glogster Edu: www.edu.glogster.com

93. PD 360: www.pd360.com

94. Enter The Group: www.enterthegroup.com

95. assessmentfocus.com: www.assessmentfocus.com

96. JewelBeat: www.jewelbeat.com

97. NWP Digital Is: http://digitalis.nwp.org/

98. Gapminder: www.gapminder.org

99. Facing the Future: www.facingthefuture.org

100. Curriculum21: www.curriculum21.com/clearinghouse

101. World Mapper: www.worldmapper.org

102. Collaborize Classroom: www.collaborizeclassroom.com

103. SweetSearch: www.sweetsearch.com

104. LearningReviews.com: www.LearningReviews.com

105. Genetic Science Learning Center: learn.genetics.utah.edu

106. Enter The Group: www.Enterthegroup.com

107. Hudson Alpha Institute for Biotechnology: www.hudsonalpha.org/education/digitaleducation

108. Knovio: www.knovio.com

109. Splashtop Inc.: www.splashtop.com

110. Root-1: www.root-1.com

111. MyClassTalk: www.myclasstalk.com

112. BenchPrep: www.benchprep.com

Comments (85 Replies)Sign in or register to postSubscribe to comments via RSS

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

Dave and Shana,

Thanks for submitting the webware tools! I am sure teachers will find them useful.

Hubert

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

[quote]I know everyone likes tidy lists, but a list that is only 80 items long and seeks to cover the entire edtech field needs another zero on the end. We've created an article on 101 Great Sites for Social Studiesand everyone of them is great.

Indeed, once we have created about 100 guides to the best educational resources by topic, as well as articles linking to the best educational content online for students, we realized we had more than 35,000 curated sites useful to educators and students. Thus, to make these easier to find, we created SweetSearch, a custom search engine powered by Google that only searches these 35,000 sites, and others we find on lists such as yours. So I suggest SweetSearch as one tool to add to your list.[/quote]

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your submission of SweetSearch to our list of Websites recommended and/or used by Edutopia community members.

Hubert

Natalie Callier's picture
Natalie Callier
12 Grade British Literature teacher from Butler, GA

I'm new to teaching British Literature and have found several pbl activities on the EDSITEment site. I really look forward to using many of the other sites listed.

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

[quote]I'm new to teaching British Literature and have found several pbl activities on the EDSITEment site. I really look forward to using many of the other sites listed.[/quote]

Natalie,

Thanks for your feedback! We're glad that you've found the list to be useful. Don't forget to let us know other Websites that work for you.

SP's picture
SP
CEO Enterthegroup.com

Hi,

Great list. I would like to also suggest you have a look at http://Enterthegroup.com, a free site for teachers to create virtual classrooms and for students to manage group work online. It's like a Facebook for education, but a safe and powerful tool.

Heidi Reina's picture
Heidi Reina
Technology Integration Teacher from Suffolk, Virginia

Please let your readers know about LearningReviews.com, a directory of kids learning websites, web tools, references, and teacher tools. There are more than 2700 mostly free sites listed, with reviews written by teachers, students and parents.

Adam Hott's picture
Adam Hott
Coordinator of Educational Outreach HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology

Two online resources I would like to recommend for teaching biology and genetics are the Genetic Science Learning Center, gslc.genetics.utah.edulearn.genetics for students and teach.genetics for educators and the HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology digital education tools at www.hudsonalpha.org/education/digitaleducation.

Hubert V. Yee's picture
Hubert V. Yee
social media and marketing manager of startup

Heidi, Adam, and Sal,

Thanks for adding more resources to our list.

Ida Brandão's picture
Ida Brandão
Senior officer at the Ministry of Education in Portugal

I'm testing a new recent free webtool - Knovio.com - which is a video presentation based on the use of webcam and powerpoint. It uploads a ppt, converted into still images, and allows a video comment along the display of the ppt. It's very simple to use and recording will take a few minutes, allowing to share online. The tool is still a beta version, and one of the objectives is to embed in blogs (or websites). I think it may be also very useful for online training/tutoring.
Although there are already other more creative presentation tools such as PREZI, and other screencast tools like JING or Camstudio, it's an interesting alternative. It will probably evolve to a commercial tool in what respects some features to develop, as Jing and other tools, but the free component will be enough for educational purposes.

Sandra Wozniak's picture
Sandra Wozniak
President, NJ Association for Middle Level Education

I agree that this is a great list! How can I keep all of these resources organized?

Sign in and Join the Discussion! Not a member? Register to join the discussion.