Any tech tools, resources, recommendations, including the vast world of online learning.

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

Hubert V. Yee social media and marketing manager of startup

11/10/11 Update: We have an additional 30 plus tools, references, and resources submitted by community members.

We all know that teachers are always looking for tools, references, and resources for classrooms. Well, here's 80 "must see" trial, free, and paid websites recommended by Edutopia community members. Keep this list in your back pocket! It might come in handy. (The list is not ranked and listed in any order.) =)

What other websites do you think are missing from this list? Which ones do you use?

1. Thinkfinity: www.thinkfinity.org

2. National Geographic Xpeditions: www.nationalgeographic.com

3. Culture Grams: www.culturegrams.com

4. Asia Society: www.asiasociety.org/arts-culture/asia-society-museum

5. BBC for Kids: www.bbc.co.uk

6. New York Times, Lesson Plans: www.learning.blogs.nytimes.com/category/lesson-plans

7. Teacher Corner: www.theteacherscorner.net

8. Slide Share: www.slideshare.net

9. Free Rice-Vocabulary Site: www.freerice.com

10. Free Poverty-Geography Site: www.freepoverty.com

11. Learner: www.learner.org

12. International Reading Association: www.readwritethink.org

13. OWL at Purdue U: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

14. Blue Grammar Book: www.grammarbook.com

15. ESL Flashcards: www.eslflashcards.com

16. Spellanywhere: www.spellanywhere.com

17. Rick Walton: www.rickwalton.com

18. Fires in the Mind: www.firesinthemind.org

19. Edhelper: www.edhelper.com

20. RubiStar: http://rubistar.4teachers.org/

21. Byrd Seed Gifted Lessons: www.byrdseed.com

22. Imagination Soup: www.imaginationsoup.net

23. TED: www.ted.com

24. Professional Garfield: www.professorgarfield.org

25. Kid Blog: www.kidblog.org

26. That Quiz: www.thatquiz.org

27. Academic Skill Builders: www.arcademicskillbuilders.com

28. Circle the Cat: www.members.shaw.ca/gf3/circle-the-cat.html

29. Sheppard Software: www.sheppardsoftware.com

30. Storyline Online:
www.storylineonline.net

31. ABCya!: www.abcya.com

32. Study Zone: www.studyzone.org/testprep/index.cfm

33. Florida Assessment for Instruction in Reading: www.fcrr.org/scasearch

34. Super Teacher Worksheets: www.superteacherworksheets.com

35. Discovery Education Streaming: www.discoveryeducation.com

36. Busy Teacher’s Café: www.busyteacherscafe.com

37. Global Tech School: www.globaltechschool.com

38. Diigo: www.diigo.com

39. Vocabulary and Spelling City: www.spellingcity.com

40. Making Curriculum Pop: www.mcpopmb.ning.com

41. English Champion: www.englishcompanion.ning.com

42. National Council of Teachers of English: www.ncte.org

43. Web English Teacher: www.webenglishteacher.com

44. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: www.rockhall.com/education

45. College Board: http://professionals.collegeboard.com/prof-dev

46. Technology in Class: www.technologyinclass.com/blog

47. PBworks: http://pbworks.com/

48. Challenge by Choice: www.challengebychoice.wordpress.com

49. McQuality Education Services: www.mcqualityeducserv.com

50. Learning Centre: www.museevirtuel-virtualmuseum.ca

51. Dream Up the Future: http://teachers.egfi-k12.org

52. Ten Marks: www.tenmarks.com/tmother/teacher-index

53. Quizlet: www.quizlet.com

54. Voice Thread: www.voicethread.com

55. 8 to Great: www.8togreat.com

56. Learn Me Project: www.learnmeproject.com

57. Hands on Math: www.handsonmath.blogspot.com

58. Edmodo: www.edmodo.com

59. Tween Tribune: www.tweentribune.com

60. TregoED: www.tregoed.org/teachers/new-to-scan.html

61. Middle School Science: www.middleschoolscience.com

62. Science Spot: www.sciencespot.net

63. Animoto: www.animoto.com

64. Prezi: www.prezi.com

65. Buck Institute for Education: www.bie.org

66. Eduhound: www.eduhound.com

67. How Stuff Works: www.howstuffworks.com

68. Flash Card Machine: www.flashcardmachine.com

69. Class Jump: www.classjump.com

70. ABCteach: www.abcteach.com

71. EPALS Global Community: www.epals.com

72. EdHelper: www.edhelper.com

73. TeAch-nology: www.teach-nology.com

74. Survey Monkey: www.surveymonkey.com

75. Scholastic: http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/home.jsp

76. iKeep Bookmarks: www.ikeepbookmarks.com

77. Enchanted Learning: www.enchantedlearning.com

78. Eclipse Crossword: www.eclipsecrossword.com

79. Math Snacks: www.mathsnacks.org

80. Wikispaces: www.wikispaces.com

Additional community member submissions:

81. World Digital Library: www.wdl.org

82. Library of Congress for Teachers: www.loc.gov/teachers

83. SocialMaestro: www.socialmaestro.com

84. Spellingcity: www.spellingcity.com

85. Report Card Comments: www.reportcardscomments.com

86. EDSITEment!: www.edsitement.neh.gov

87. Khan Academy: www.khanacademy.org

88. Teachinghistory.org: www.teachinghistory.org

89. National Archives - Teachers: www.archives.gov/education

90. Smithsonian: www.si.edu/educators

91. Jibe: www.jibemix.com

92. Glogster Edu: www.edu.glogster.com

93. PD 360: www.pd360.com

94. Enter The Group: www.enterthegroup.com

95. assessmentfocus.com: www.assessmentfocus.com

96. JewelBeat: www.jewelbeat.com

97. NWP Digital Is: http://digitalis.nwp.org/

98. Gapminder: www.gapminder.org

99. Facing the Future: www.facingthefuture.org

100. Curriculum21: www.curriculum21.com/clearinghouse

101. World Mapper: www.worldmapper.org

102. Collaborize Classroom: www.collaborizeclassroom.com

103. SweetSearch: www.sweetsearch.com

104. LearningReviews.com: www.LearningReviews.com

105. Genetic Science Learning Center: learn.genetics.utah.edu

106. Enter The Group: www.Enterthegroup.com

107. Hudson Alpha Institute for Biotechnology: www.hudsonalpha.org/education/digitaleducation

108. Knovio: www.knovio.com

109. Splashtop Inc.: www.splashtop.com

110. Root-1: www.root-1.com

111. MyClassTalk: www.myclasstalk.com

112. BenchPrep: www.benchprep.com

Comments (82)

Comment RSS
social media and marketing manager of startup

Quote: And to make it easier

Was this helpful?
0
Quote:

And to make it easier for you to find free, kid-safe, online tools, check out this collaborative edtech wiki: http://edutechdatabase.wikispaces.com/It contains over 1000 tools categorized by subject, grade level, and standards!

Hi Ms. Trust!

We are going to be opening up a wiki very soon! Look forward to sharing the wiki with others. =)

Hubert

social media and marketing manager of startup

Hi Jared, Nathan, Sal, and

Was this helpful?
0

Hi Jared, Nathan, Sal, and Shrine,

Noted! I've added your recommendations to our list. Thanks!

hubert

social media and marketing manager of startup

Quote: Digital Is, at

Was this helpful?
0
Quote:

Digital Is, at http://www.digitalis.nwp.orgis a growing collection of teaching ideas and reflections by teachers about their efforts to teach digital writing and understand the affordances and potential of digital media and literacies.

Thank you Elyse! Huge fan of NWP!

Hubert

social media and marketing manager of startup

Quote: The different

Was this helpful?
0
Quote:

The different repositories of educational tools and resources always bring up some new links that we are not aware of or we have not visited recently, therefore, thanks for sharing this list.

One of the most extensive repositories of free Web 2.0 tools that I have encountered is Cool Tools for Schools, created by a lady from New Zealand who keeps updating it. It has received a recent award by Merlot and I recommend it vividly - http://cooltoolsforschools.wikispaces.com.

The wiki is structured by a classification of tools (resources have also been added more recently), and if you open the index A-Z you can have a glimpse of how long this list is in fact.

Thank you Ida! We will add this to our list of Wikis when we launch it.

Hubert

social media and marketing manager of startup

Quote: Thanks so much for

Was this helpful?
0
Quote:

Thanks so much for these resources in one place!Here are Livebinders I created with tech tools, some of which you have already listed.

http://livebinders.com/edit?id=128257#http://livebinders.com/edit?id=130510

Hi Lisa,

Great lists! We'll aggregate your list on our wiki when we launch.

Hubert

social media and marketing manager of startup

Dave and Shana, Thanks for

Was this helpful?
0

Dave and Shana,

Thanks for submitting the webware tools! I am sure teachers will find them useful.

Hubert

social media and marketing manager of startup

Quote: I know everyone likes

Was this helpful?
0
Quote:

I know everyone likes tidy lists, but a list that is only 80 items long and seeks to cover the entire edtech field needs another zero on the end. We've created an article on 101 Great Sites for Social Studiesand everyone of them is great.

Indeed, once we have created about 100 guides to the best educational resources by topic, as well as articles linking to the best educational content online for students, we realized we had more than 35,000 curated sites useful to educators and students. Thus, to make these easier to find, we created SweetSearch, a custom search engine powered by Google that only searches these 35,000 sites, and others we find on lists such as yours. So I suggest SweetSearch as one tool to add to your list.

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your submission of SweetSearch to our list of Websites recommended and/or used by Edutopia community members.

Hubert

12 Grade British Literature teacher from Butler, GA

I'm new to teaching British

Was this helpful?
0

I'm new to teaching British Literature and have found several pbl activities on the EDSITEment site. I really look forward to using many of the other sites listed.

social media and marketing manager of startup

Quote: I'm new to teaching

Was this helpful?
0
Quote:

I'm new to teaching British Literature and have found several pbl activities on the EDSITEment site. I really look forward to using many of the other sites listed.

Natalie,

Thanks for your feedback! We're glad that you've found the list to be useful. Don't forget to let us know other Websites that work for you.

CEO Enterthegroup.com

ETG

Was this helpful?
0

Hi,

Great list. I would like to also suggest you have a look at http://Enterthegroup.com, a free site for teachers to create virtual classrooms and for students to manage group work online. It's like a Facebook for education, but a safe and powerful tool.

see more see less