Facebook
Edutopia on Facebook
Twitter
Edutopia on Twitter
Google+
Edutopia on Google+
Pinterest
Edutopia on Pinterest Follow Me on Pinterest
WHAT WORKS IN EDUCATION The George Lucas Educational Foundation

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

Related Tags: Classroom Technology
More Related Discussions
85 11561 Views

11/10/11 Update: We have an additional 30 plus tools, references, and resources submitted by community members.

We all know that teachers are always looking for tools, references, and resources for classrooms. Well, here's 80 "must see" trial, free, and paid websites recommended by Edutopia community members. Keep this list in your back pocket! It might come in handy. (The list is not ranked and listed in any order.) =)

What other websites do you think are missing from this list? Which ones do you use?

1. Thinkfinity: www.thinkfinity.org

2. National Geographic Xpeditions: www.nationalgeographic.com

3. Culture Grams: www.culturegrams.com

4. Asia Society: www.asiasociety.org/arts-culture/asia-society-museum

5. BBC for Kids: www.bbc.co.uk

6. New York Times, Lesson Plans: www.learning.blogs.nytimes.com/category/lesson-plans

7. Teacher Corner: www.theteacherscorner.net

8. Slide Share: www.slideshare.net

9. Free Rice-Vocabulary Site: www.freerice.com

10. Free Poverty-Geography Site: www.freepoverty.com

11. Learner: www.learner.org

12. International Reading Association: www.readwritethink.org

13. OWL at Purdue U: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

14. Blue Grammar Book: www.grammarbook.com

15. ESL Flashcards: www.eslflashcards.com

16. Spellanywhere: www.spellanywhere.com

17. Rick Walton: www.rickwalton.com

18. Fires in the Mind: www.firesinthemind.org

19. Edhelper: www.edhelper.com

20. RubiStar: http://rubistar.4teachers.org/

21. Byrd Seed Gifted Lessons: www.byrdseed.com

22. Imagination Soup: www.imaginationsoup.net

23. TED: www.ted.com

24. Professional Garfield: www.professorgarfield.org

25. Kid Blog: www.kidblog.org

26. That Quiz: www.thatquiz.org

27. Academic Skill Builders: www.arcademicskillbuilders.com

28. Circle the Cat: www.crazygames.com/game/circle-the-cat

29. Sheppard Software: www.sheppardsoftware.com

30. Storyline Online:
www.storylineonline.net

31. ABCya!: www.abcya.com

32. Study Zone: www.studyzone.org/testprep/index.cfm

33. Florida Assessment for Instruction in Reading: www.fcrr.org/scasearch

34. Super Teacher Worksheets: www.superteacherworksheets.com

35. Discovery Education Streaming: www.discoveryeducation.com

36. Busy Teacher’s Café: www.busyteacherscafe.com

37. Global Tech School: www.globaltechschool.com

38. Diigo: www.diigo.com

39. Vocabulary and Spelling City: www.spellingcity.com

40. Making Curriculum Pop: www.mcpopmb.ning.com

41. English Champion: www.englishcompanion.ning.com

42. National Council of Teachers of English: www.ncte.org

43. Web English Teacher: www.webenglishteacher.com

44. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: www.rockhall.com/education

45. College Board: http://professionals.collegeboard.com/prof-dev

46. Technology in Class: www.technologyinclass.com/blog

47. PBworks: http://pbworks.com/

48. Challenge by Choice: www.challengebychoice.wordpress.com

49. McQuality Education Services: www.mcqualityeducserv.com

50. Learning Centre: www.museevirtuel-virtualmuseum.ca

51. Dream Up the Future: http://teachers.egfi-k12.org

52. Ten Marks: www.tenmarks.com/tmother/teacher-index

53. Quizlet: www.quizlet.com

54. Voice Thread: www.voicethread.com

55. 8 to Great: www.8togreat.com

56. Learn Me Project: www.learnmeproject.com

57. Hands on Math: www.handsonmath.blogspot.com

58. Edmodo: www.edmodo.com

59. Tween Tribune: www.tweentribune.com

60. TregoED: www.tregoed.org/teachers/new-to-scan.html

61. Middle School Science: www.middleschoolscience.com

62. Science Spot: www.sciencespot.net

63. Animoto: www.animoto.com

64. Prezi: www.prezi.com

65. Buck Institute for Education: www.bie.org

66. Eduhound: www.eduhound.com

67. How Stuff Works: www.howstuffworks.com

68. Flash Card Machine: www.flashcardmachine.com

69. Class Jump: www.classjump.com

70. ABCteach: www.abcteach.com

71. EPALS Global Community: www.epals.com

72. EdHelper: www.edhelper.com

73. TeAch-nology: www.teach-nology.com

74. Survey Monkey: www.surveymonkey.com

75. Scholastic: http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/home.jsp

76. iKeep Bookmarks: www.ikeepbookmarks.com

77. Enchanted Learning: www.enchantedlearning.com

78. Eclipse Crossword: www.eclipsecrossword.com

79. Math Snacks: www.mathsnacks.org

80. Wikispaces: www.wikispaces.com

Additional community member submissions:

81. World Digital Library: www.wdl.org

82. Library of Congress for Teachers: www.loc.gov/teachers

83. SocialMaestro: www.socialmaestro.com

84. Spellingcity: www.spellingcity.com

85. Report Card Comments: www.reportcardscomments.com

86. EDSITEment!: www.edsitement.neh.gov

87. Khan Academy: www.khanacademy.org

88. Teachinghistory.org: www.teachinghistory.org

89. National Archives - Teachers: www.archives.gov/education

90. Smithsonian: www.si.edu/educators

91. Jibe: www.jibemix.com

92. Glogster Edu: www.edu.glogster.com

93. PD 360: www.pd360.com

94. Enter The Group: www.enterthegroup.com

95. assessmentfocus.com: www.assessmentfocus.com

96. JewelBeat: www.jewelbeat.com

97. NWP Digital Is: http://digitalis.nwp.org/

98. Gapminder: www.gapminder.org

99. Facing the Future: www.facingthefuture.org

100. Curriculum21: www.curriculum21.com/clearinghouse

101. World Mapper: www.worldmapper.org

102. Collaborize Classroom: www.collaborizeclassroom.com

103. SweetSearch: www.sweetsearch.com

104. LearningReviews.com: www.LearningReviews.com

105. Genetic Science Learning Center: learn.genetics.utah.edu

106. Enter The Group: www.Enterthegroup.com

107. Hudson Alpha Institute for Biotechnology: www.hudsonalpha.org/education/digitaleducation

108. Knovio: www.knovio.com

109. Splashtop Inc.: www.splashtop.com

110. Root-1: www.root-1.com

111. MyClassTalk: www.myclasstalk.com

112. BenchPrep: www.benchprep.com

Comments (85)Sign in or register to postSubscribe to comments via RSS

KristinMMarie's picture

Awesome tools on this list! Thanks!
We here at www.MentorMob.com have teachers creating Learning Playlists to organize online resources (YouTube videos, articles, PDFs, etc) for their students. They then have embedded these playlists in their classroom blogs or LMS'. Hope this helps!

Keith Heggart's picture
Keith Heggart
High School Teacher from Sydney, Australia
Facilitator

Brilliant list here. So many excellent tools for educators. I've just started using Scoop It, too, which I think has real potential.

jollibee's picture

You may add gflashcards to your list. The flashcards app is better than flashcardmachine.

Taylor's picture

These are all extremely great technology resources! I am not sure if anyone has heard of this website, but as a Social Studies teacher I frequently use Mrdonn.org for lesson ideas, videos, free presentations and more! BrainPop is also a website I use in all subjects I teach. Even though most videos require membership which costs money, the website does feature free videos each month.

Mrs C Swait's picture
Mrs C Swait
Researching parents/pupils/teacher/institutions thoughts on exam revision

Online Diagnostic Revision. Pupil login and Teacher login too for monitoring results in real time. Short test, automatically corrected and retests issued based on results. Recommendation for text book resource page numbers to revise based on results.

Meredith Ely's picture
Meredith Ely
Education advocate and EdTech nerd

4 more fantastic tools that every teacher should know about!

LearnBoost: free online lesson planning, grading, reporting, sheduling, and sharing tools for classroom teachers (www.learnboost.com)

Educreations: turn your iPad into an interactive lesson planning platform for free! (www.educreations.com/)

Remind101: free and secure group messaging so teachers can connect via text with students (www.remind101.com)

Top Hat Monocle: the "clicker" redefined - students can use any mobile device to answer questions, participate in discussions, and engage in lectures. (www.tophatmonocle.com)

Full disclosure: I'm the Head of Community Development @LearnBoost and love to work with our teachers to make LearnBoost's free tools more amazing on a daily basis :D

blog What Edtech Can You Trust?

Last comment 3 days 14 min ago in Technology Integration

blog Design Challenge: DIY Assistive Game Controllers

Last comment 5 days 3 hours ago in Assistive Technology

Discussion Ideas for a single iPad classroom?

Last comment 6 days 2 hours ago in Technology Integration

Discussion Question About Dragonspeak Naturally

Last comment 1 week 1 day ago in Classroom Technology

blog Top Techy Gifts for Your Favorite Teacher

Last comment 3 weeks 3 days ago in Technology Integration

Sign in and Join the Discussion! Not a member? Register to join the discussion.