Facebook
Edutopia on Facebook
Twitter
Edutopia on Twitter
Google+
Edutopia on Google+
Pinterest
Edutopia on Pinterest Follow Me on Pinterest
WHAT WORKS IN EDUCATION The George Lucas Educational Foundation

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

80 Online Tools, References, and Resources

Related Tags: Classroom Technology
More Related Discussions
85 11546 Views

11/10/11 Update: We have an additional 30 plus tools, references, and resources submitted by community members.

We all know that teachers are always looking for tools, references, and resources for classrooms. Well, here's 80 "must see" trial, free, and paid websites recommended by Edutopia community members. Keep this list in your back pocket! It might come in handy. (The list is not ranked and listed in any order.) =)

What other websites do you think are missing from this list? Which ones do you use?

1. Thinkfinity: www.thinkfinity.org

2. National Geographic Xpeditions: www.nationalgeographic.com

3. Culture Grams: www.culturegrams.com

4. Asia Society: www.asiasociety.org/arts-culture/asia-society-museum

5. BBC for Kids: www.bbc.co.uk

6. New York Times, Lesson Plans: www.learning.blogs.nytimes.com/category/lesson-plans

7. Teacher Corner: www.theteacherscorner.net

8. Slide Share: www.slideshare.net

9. Free Rice-Vocabulary Site: www.freerice.com

10. Free Poverty-Geography Site: www.freepoverty.com

11. Learner: www.learner.org

12. International Reading Association: www.readwritethink.org

13. OWL at Purdue U: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

14. Blue Grammar Book: www.grammarbook.com

15. ESL Flashcards: www.eslflashcards.com

16. Spellanywhere: www.spellanywhere.com

17. Rick Walton: www.rickwalton.com

18. Fires in the Mind: www.firesinthemind.org

19. Edhelper: www.edhelper.com

20. RubiStar: http://rubistar.4teachers.org/

21. Byrd Seed Gifted Lessons: www.byrdseed.com

22. Imagination Soup: www.imaginationsoup.net

23. TED: www.ted.com

24. Professional Garfield: www.professorgarfield.org

25. Kid Blog: www.kidblog.org

26. That Quiz: www.thatquiz.org

27. Academic Skill Builders: www.arcademicskillbuilders.com

28. Circle the Cat: www.crazygames.com/game/circle-the-cat

29. Sheppard Software: www.sheppardsoftware.com

30. Storyline Online:
www.storylineonline.net

31. ABCya!: www.abcya.com

32. Study Zone: www.studyzone.org/testprep/index.cfm

33. Florida Assessment for Instruction in Reading: www.fcrr.org/scasearch

34. Super Teacher Worksheets: www.superteacherworksheets.com

35. Discovery Education Streaming: www.discoveryeducation.com

36. Busy Teacher’s Café: www.busyteacherscafe.com

37. Global Tech School: www.globaltechschool.com

38. Diigo: www.diigo.com

39. Vocabulary and Spelling City: www.spellingcity.com

40. Making Curriculum Pop: www.mcpopmb.ning.com

41. English Champion: www.englishcompanion.ning.com

42. National Council of Teachers of English: www.ncte.org

43. Web English Teacher: www.webenglishteacher.com

44. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: www.rockhall.com/education

45. College Board: http://professionals.collegeboard.com/prof-dev

46. Technology in Class: www.technologyinclass.com/blog

47. PBworks: http://pbworks.com/

48. Challenge by Choice: www.challengebychoice.wordpress.com

49. McQuality Education Services: www.mcqualityeducserv.com

50. Learning Centre: www.museevirtuel-virtualmuseum.ca

51. Dream Up the Future: http://teachers.egfi-k12.org

52. Ten Marks: www.tenmarks.com/tmother/teacher-index

53. Quizlet: www.quizlet.com

54. Voice Thread: www.voicethread.com

55. 8 to Great: www.8togreat.com

56. Learn Me Project: www.learnmeproject.com

57. Hands on Math: www.handsonmath.blogspot.com

58. Edmodo: www.edmodo.com

59. Tween Tribune: www.tweentribune.com

60. TregoED: www.tregoed.org/teachers/new-to-scan.html

61. Middle School Science: www.middleschoolscience.com

62. Science Spot: www.sciencespot.net

63. Animoto: www.animoto.com

64. Prezi: www.prezi.com

65. Buck Institute for Education: www.bie.org

66. Eduhound: www.eduhound.com

67. How Stuff Works: www.howstuffworks.com

68. Flash Card Machine: www.flashcardmachine.com

69. Class Jump: www.classjump.com

70. ABCteach: www.abcteach.com

71. EPALS Global Community: www.epals.com

72. EdHelper: www.edhelper.com

73. TeAch-nology: www.teach-nology.com

74. Survey Monkey: www.surveymonkey.com

75. Scholastic: http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/home.jsp

76. iKeep Bookmarks: www.ikeepbookmarks.com

77. Enchanted Learning: www.enchantedlearning.com

78. Eclipse Crossword: www.eclipsecrossword.com

79. Math Snacks: www.mathsnacks.org

80. Wikispaces: www.wikispaces.com

Additional community member submissions:

81. World Digital Library: www.wdl.org

82. Library of Congress for Teachers: www.loc.gov/teachers

83. SocialMaestro: www.socialmaestro.com

84. Spellingcity: www.spellingcity.com

85. Report Card Comments: www.reportcardscomments.com

86. EDSITEment!: www.edsitement.neh.gov

87. Khan Academy: www.khanacademy.org

88. Teachinghistory.org: www.teachinghistory.org

89. National Archives - Teachers: www.archives.gov/education

90. Smithsonian: www.si.edu/educators

91. Jibe: www.jibemix.com

92. Glogster Edu: www.edu.glogster.com

93. PD 360: www.pd360.com

94. Enter The Group: www.enterthegroup.com

95. assessmentfocus.com: www.assessmentfocus.com

96. JewelBeat: www.jewelbeat.com

97. NWP Digital Is: http://digitalis.nwp.org/

98. Gapminder: www.gapminder.org

99. Facing the Future: www.facingthefuture.org

100. Curriculum21: www.curriculum21.com/clearinghouse

101. World Mapper: www.worldmapper.org

102. Collaborize Classroom: www.collaborizeclassroom.com

103. SweetSearch: www.sweetsearch.com

104. LearningReviews.com: www.LearningReviews.com

105. Genetic Science Learning Center: learn.genetics.utah.edu

106. Enter The Group: www.Enterthegroup.com

107. Hudson Alpha Institute for Biotechnology: www.hudsonalpha.org/education/digitaleducation

108. Knovio: www.knovio.com

109. Splashtop Inc.: www.splashtop.com

110. Root-1: www.root-1.com

111. MyClassTalk: www.myclasstalk.com

112. BenchPrep: www.benchprep.com

Comments (85)Sign in or register to postSubscribe to comments via RSS

Meredith Ely's picture
Meredith Ely
Education advocate and EdTech nerd

A quick shout-out to the amazing brainstorming here! As I share back-to-school resources with teachers and students, this is one of the best lists I've seen so far.

Jeandrap's picture
Jeandrap
Content Producer, The ACME Network

Hi,
All, edutopia did a video interview on our non-profit some time ago on our online mentoring site, as a tool/ resource, so I wanted to share with this group our latest news: Our award winning animation training and mentoring program ACME Animation Online, has now opened its annual memberships to individuals worldwide. By opening our doors to individuals, we hoping to serve a larger population during this current school funding crisis. Pricing is $300 per student, although we are offering a 15% discount to celebrate the launch, so less than .70 cents per day. If you know of arts or technology teachers who might be interested, or individual students, please help us pass the word on. Go to http://theacmenetwork.org for more info, and use price code (LNCH 15% Discount).
the old edutopia video article on us is at: http://www.edutopia.org/acme-animation-mentorship-video
Resources to get animation going in your classes can be for for free at:
http://www.pencil-animation.org/
http://animation.about.com/od/referencematerials/a/freesoftware.htm
Thanks!

Isolda's picture
Isolda
Teacher of English and Teacher Trainer in Chile

Hey everyone
I'd like to share with you this great website created by Russell Stannard. You'll find a collection of tutorials on how to use different free websites as useful tools to support our lessons. Enjoy!

http://www.teachertrainingvideos.com/

Darla Grant's picture
Darla Grant
High School Literature Teacher, AP Literature

I am new to the discussion, but I didn't see PBS Learning media listed. It's less of a tool and more of a resource for videos. I find it very helpful in my classroom.
The site redirects you to the local PBS, so here's Arizona: http://az.pbslearningmedia.org/

Karen's picture
Karen
Middle School Humanities Teacher, Reading Specialist

A company called Actively Learn recently launched their beta of a program called Actively Read.

The program allows teachers to embed questions, comments and all sorts of multimedia links directly into the texts that you read with your class. I've been using the program with my students since last spring (most recently with "Harrison Bergeron") and it is really user-friendly. They are looking for teachers to try out this version of the product for FREE. The website is www.ActivelyLearn.com - check it out and request an invite to use it with your class!

Philip Perry's picture

With www.learnclick.com you can create cloze tests (gap-filling exercises) with just a few mouse clicks. There are different types of modes you can choose from, for example drag & drop. The statistics give you an idea were the weaknesses of one's students are. The free version offers enough time if you just plan to use the website for a one-time fun activity and the prices for a year membership are also very affordable.

Eda BAKIR's picture
Eda BAKIR
ICT teacher for public seconday school,Trabzon,TURKEY

Hi ,this from Turkey
http://www.eba.gov.tr
it is educational IT network.If teachers want to share his or her material, he or she can upload it to the web site.It includes educational materials for teachers for k-12.

Keith Heggart's picture
Keith Heggart
High School Teacher from Sydney, Australia
Facilitator

Not sure this is the best place for this, but I was wondering if anyone has gone down the path of creating iBooks for students to use with iPads. If so, have you used widget builders like http://bookry.com to make it more accessible? Any feedback on the best ones?

Jim Kelly's picture
Jim Kelly
Providing OER resource links to improve k-12th grade mathematics.

If you are tired of doing "Google searches" to find Open Educational Resources OER - lessons, examples, definitions, problems - you should check out the non commercial website www.k-12math.info. It is organized by content ( 1,000 of the most commonly used terms in elementary and secondary school student mathematics textbooks) and grade level (age level for international users). The site is providing thousands of links to information to help material developers, resource people and teachers.

blog What Edtech Can You Trust?

Last comment 2 days 10 hours ago in Technology Integration

blog Design Challenge: DIY Assistive Game Controllers

Last comment 4 days 13 hours ago in Assistive Technology

Discussion Ideas for a single iPad classroom?

Last comment 5 days 12 hours ago in Technology Integration

Discussion Question About Dragonspeak Naturally

Last comment 1 week 14 hours ago in Classroom Technology

blog Top Techy Gifts for Your Favorite Teacher

Last comment 3 weeks 2 days ago in Technology Integration

Sign in and Join the Discussion! Not a member? Register to join the discussion.