George Lucas Educational Foundation
Project-Based Learning (PBL)

An Example of PBL in Early Elementary: How I Started

May 10, 2015
Two Children Outside

I am a first grade teacher who has taught for twenty years. When I look at my students and see how much the first grade classroom has changed over time, it is hard for me to imagine what jobs will be out there for them in 15 years. However, what is clear is that there are specific skills -- both academic and interpersonal -- that my students will need to possess to find a successful career. The Common Core standards clearly outline what my students need to be able to master when they leave first grade, however there are also other crucial skills that many educators are calling the 4 C’s: Collaboration, Communication, Critical Thinking and Creativity that are skills highly desired by future employers.

As a teacher I have asked myself, "How do I integrate the Common Core Standards and start teaching these other highly desirable skills in first grade?" My answer to this question has been found in Project Based Learning (PBL).

My biggest challenge has been where to start. I purchased PBL in the Elementary Grades, and I decided to start small. I started the year with the usual review of the alphabet. But this year, all of the letters coincided with local animals. Letter F was the Yellow Legged Frog. Students found out that this local frog has become a "species of concern". Students wanted to help save this little creature and so our first project for the year was: How can we help save the Yellow Legged Frog? The link below shows how beginning first graders were able to help save our local Yellow Legged Frog.