George Lucas Educational Foundation
English Language Learners

Empathy & Inclusion for ELL Students

September 14, 2014

Being an English Language Learner in the classroom can be a very overwhelming experience for students regardless of age. It’s important for educators to build an atmosphere that fosters a safe and empathetic environment for ELL students.

Being an ELL student myself in grade 5 was very overwhelming experience in the classroom and school. My teachers did their best to help me learn this new language, which I now consider to be my first language: English. They were very kind, understanding and empathetic when it comes to my situation. My first children’s novel was given to me that year as a gift from my grade 5 teacher: The Babysitter’s Club. I remember being very excited about it and hoping that I would soon be able to read it cover to cover. Most of the challenges that I faced dealt with the social aspect of integrating into a new school and a classroom, with new classmates. Having my classmates being more empathetic and kind would have helped me out a great deal.

There are a few things that teachers can adopt and model in their classrooms to help build a kind and empathetic social atmosphere for ELL students:

• Practice pronunciation of student’s name: To this day, I still practice this with my international students. Names represent who we are. It is crucial for the teacher as well as classmates to be able to pronounce the ELL student’s name correctly. This might involve correcting students who mispronounce the student’s name.